Cause I'm never gonna have Kexchoklad again without thinking of you, guys

That bus station has never before been so cold. Never ever until that very moment when I finally had to realise: this week is over. They are going back home to Germany.
Their "oh Lilly, don't cry" didn't help much more than when the Spanish said the same thing. I was sobbing my heart out. Neele hugged me again and tried to dry my tears with her gloves on.
"Don't cry, it's gonna be OK. You're coming to Germany, right?"
Something between us was so RIGHT, from the first moment she entered my home. She had bought me a lot of German sweets and the latest Johnny Depp movie. It was like she already knew me.

We had pizza together and she said that the Coca Cola was much more shiny than the German one. We went to Astrid Lindgren's Värld, all of us, and the thing I'm gonna remember the most is probably that stupid little vagon I had to take through the whole park. And, of course, when we all went into that tiny little house and took pictures of ourselves.
My family loved her. My parents told her everything about Sweden and my brother sung all the German songs he knew. We watched Shrek 2 and then, to go on with the Astrid Lindgren theme, The Brothers Lionheart. In Swedish, with me sitting beside Neele and translating everything. It was one of the strangest things I've ever done, but at least she has seen the movie now. And I think she liked it.
We've been discussing everything from the German school system and the Swedish royal family to American politics and popcorn. I thought I was really international, but the thing about the popcorn was the biggest cultural clash ever. When they asked me "oh, is there only salted popcorn?" I was pretty much like "yeah, what else should they be?". Sugar popcorn. I don't know who was the most shocked: me and the Swedes cause we couldn't imagine what it was like, or the Germans becuse we only had salted popcorn in Sweden and never had heard of sugar popcorn.
Yesterday we were in school, playing a lot of games. Swedes, Germans, Cathalans. I liked the pig game. And "Haa, hoo, haa", of course, when I finally learned it.
 
But the thing I'm gonna remember the most is the Kexchoklad. They really loved it, all the Germans. And when they realised there was three for 18 kr on Hemköp but three for only 15 kr on Ica Berga, Neele got the task to buy Kexchoklad for all of them.
81 Kexchoklad. The woman in the desk was laughing, most of the other people at the Super Market were starring at us.
The best part was that you got a warning armband for every six Kexchoklad you bought. We calcylated it and got thirteen.
Neele asked me if I wanted one. First I said no, they are for you and your friends. But when she reminded me of the fact that they were only ten Germans, I took one and put around my wrist.
I'm glad I did. I still have it there, and it feels like keeping a part of the German Week. A part of Neele.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Mamma

Wonderful!!

2011-09-16 @ 11:01:45

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0